My 11th to the 10 Travel Commandments by Erica Paredes.

Standard

http://www.rappler.com/life-and-style/travel/52564-ten-commandments-next-travels?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=referral

Great article, very insightful, and in my case, quiet enviable. Most of the writer’s destination references are in Europe – my yet to do and must happen Bucket List entry.

Anyway, one of my favorite people’s mantras would be
“Money is never a problem“.
Which I agree on.
But might I just add the 11th travel commandment that is:
Travel when able.

I don’t mean to spoil your dreams of hitting the vagabond sack but, yes, travel when able.

Budgeting may come easy for some, it may not even be a problem at all,  but if you’re like me who needs at least 3-6 months in advance to plan my check and balance sheet, the practicality of the whole trip is always in my list of priorities, if not at the top of my considerations.
This must-do planning came,albeit late, after so many plane tickets that I booked but unfortunately didn’t get to use.

Why?

Budget issues.

After deliberating the situation, I always reach this dead end:
Yes, I’ve traveled. What next?

I’ve placed myself in a stressful post-travel situation some 2-3 years ago.
I went on as planned but came back not the way anyone would’ve wanted it. Broke.
I’m over and done with it but I’m telling you that if you can avoid it, please do.
That’s why when my father died and all I wanted was to leave, fly somewhere, I realized that I don’t have that kind of luxury.
Frustrating but that’s the truth.
In hindsight, the decision did me well.
I get to keep my savings and in so doing had me face the reality of my father’s passing head on.
I’m doing okay, I think. 🙂

Going back, there are a number of planning strategies to fit your itinerary- time and budget wise- without compromising what happens after your wanderlusting.
You just have to plan ahead and think long term.

Make sure your bills and other priorities are covered before you put a huge chunk of your income or savings for traveling.

After all, balance is key.

Bring your credit card with you if you have one but don’t include it in your source of funds. Have it for emergency cases. The word emergency itself is enough a reminder that a credit card is not meant to be used loosely.
It is very tempting but rise above the enticing thought of spending and paying later. Believe me when I say you’re not going to relish the headache of debt.
Been there. Done that.

I am not imposing but if you can help it, more so if you’re traveling on a tight budget, put shopping at the bottom of your to-do list.
Maybe buy a few local products but keep a good distance from spending more than your budget permits.

And though it is good for the soul to embark on a solo journey, traveling on a budget works best with a companion. But that’s another story.

I guess what I’m trying to say is
don’t rush it.
Don’t be deceived by what you see on your Facebook News Feed.
Don’t be pressured by your friends who have gone places.
As you might wonder how come they get to do these travels when your salaries don’t differ that far from each other’s. 
Rather than envy or be pressured, ask them how they get to do these things. Solicit for suggestions. It always pays to ask. In the end,
you’ll know it when it’s time to do it.
Not rushed. Not half-baked.

image

Planning is a very exciting part in making a dream come true.
Living the dream is even more exciting and sweet.
Enabling yourself to live more dreams tops it all.

Buckle up.   ♥

E-mail me at Tin.Biz.Fa@Gmail.com

Leave a comment